Early Years Foundation Stage


Our Early Years Curriculum is divided into seven areas.  Children's learning is observed and assessed throughout the year through written observations and photographs .  At the end of the year they are assessed against the 17 Early Learning Goals, seen below in brackets.


Prime Areas include:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

(Making Relationships, Self-confidence and self-awareness, Managing Feelings and Behaviour)

Communication and Language

(Listening and Attention, Understanding, Speaking)

Physical Development

(Moving and Handling, Health and Self-care)


Specific Areas include: 


(Reading, Writing)


(Numbers, Shape, Space and Measure)

Understanding of the World

(People and Communities, The World, Technology)

Expressive Arts and Design

(Exploring and Using Media and Materials, Being Imaginative)